The Hindi-Bindi Club

Author Monica Pradhan
Author Monica Pradhan.

Continuing the theme of food and mothers on this month, novelist Monica Pradhan couldn’t have chosen a better time to debut her first mainstream novel.

The Hindi-Bindi Club, written in the tradition of The Joy Luck Club and Like Water For Chocolate, focuses on the lives of three Indian immigrant mothers and their relationships with their daughters.

From her Web site:

For decades, they’ve gathered together, dressed in saris and sweater sets, to share recipes, arguments and laughter. They are the Hindi-Bindi Club, a nickname given by their American daughters to the mothers who left India to start life anew. Daughters, now grown, and facing struggles of their own.

Pradhan, whose parents immigrated from Mumbai, was born in Pittsburgh and decided to leave her career in consulting to write. Watch for her interview in the July issue of , and check out www.hindi-bindi.com.

May 11, 2007
Comments are closed.

Comments are closed.